Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu was founded by Uryu Gikanbo, who was the Daimyo (feudal warlord) of Kawachi no Kuni (Kawachi Castle).   It is said that Uryu Gikanbo's punch was so powerful that he once broke a sword blade in half.

        Takamatsu Toshitsugu orginally awarded this system to Akimoto Fumio, who became the 14th soke.  Akimoto met an untimely death from an illness around 1962, and he left no successor.  The system therefore came back to Takamatsu Sensei.  He passed the style onto Masaaki Hatsumi, who is the current soke, as listed in the Bugei Ryu-ha Daijiten.

        One of the special teachings of Gikan Ryu is "Bufu ni sente nashi" (From this side there is not the first strike).  This ryu contains many special kicks, punches and throws.   We have been told that the makimono scrolls do not contain step by step instructions of techniques. There are no formal kata in the Gikan ryu.  The techniques are created based on the skill of the exponent, and are a combination of the body's movement and the methods of kicking and striking from the ryu.  The methods are taught orally.


Shiten no Kamae

Hachiku no Kamae

Ichimonji no Kamae

Sanposhin no Kamae

Hira Ichimonji no Kamae






Soke of Gikan Ryu


Uryu Hangan Gikanbo     Yeiroku Era (1558-1570)

Uryu Yoshimitsu              Tensho Era  (1573-1592)

Uryu Yoshimori               Kan-ei Era    (1624-1644)

Uryu Yoshichika              Kambun Era   (1661-1673)

Uryu Yoshitaka                Genroku Era   (1688-1704)

Uryu Yoshihide                Horeki Era     (1751-1764)

Uryu Yoshimori               Kansei Era    (1789-1801)

Uryu Yoshiaki                 Tenpo Era     (1830-1844)

Uryu Yoshiyasu               Bunkyu Era   (1861-1864)

Uryu Gikan                    Keiko Era     (1865-1868)

Ishitani Takeoi Masatsugu    (approx. death 1905)

Ishitani Matsutaro Takekage  (approx. death 1911)

Takamatsu Toshitsugu Uoh    b. 1887 - d. 1972

Akimoto Fumio                     (approx. death 1962)

Hatsumi Masakki                  b. 1931 -